manfred_schaefer_2021

IFI mourns the death of Manfred Schäfer, IFI Honorary President – an obituary

The International Federation Icestocksport (IFI) mourns the death of Manfred Schäfer, IFI Honorary President, wo passed away out of the sudden and unexpected in his hometown Mannheim (Germany) at the age of 77.

Schäfer was elected IFI Honorary President in March 2020, after having served in the Position of IFI President since 1999 for the duration of 21 years. Earlier he worked for IFI in several positions since 1979, including the chairmanship of the IFI legal bodies. Together with his positions as a member of the Executive Committee of the German Icestocksport Federation (DESV), IFI President Christian Lindner honoured the lifetime work of Schäfer for Icestocksport.

“IFI mourns the death of our Honorary President Manfred Schäfer, who dedicated his lifetime work to Icesstocksport. No one gave more distinction to the international Icestocksport than he did. Taken as a whole, Schäfer has been a sports official for 56 Jahre years since 1966. That was the year when his path as an official began, as Media manager of DESV and Chairman of the Region Südwest.  From 1999 to 2020 he presided over the International Federation Icestocksport that today comprises of 47 National Federations. Manfred Schäfer has attended all IFI congresses since 1979 and was elected deputy chair of the Legal and Disciplinary Committee in the same year. Three years later, in 1982, he additionally took on the leadership of the Sports Court of Appeal. His time as President had come in 1999, when he was elected President of the International Federation Icestocksport with a vast majority. Over the years our now Honorary President managed to increase the number of members to 47 Nations as per today. Since November 2003 he was striving to make Icestocksport an Olympic Programme sport. The inclusion of Icestocksport in the Olympic Programme was always his goal”, declared IFI President Christian Lindner.

“Manfred Schäfer laid the foundations for this by pursuing with his tireless efforts the recognition by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) which IFI finally was granted by the IOC Executive Board in 2018 and confirmed as full recognition by the IOC Session in Tokyo 2021“.

„Whilst the dream of Manfred Schäfer of an Olympic future of Icestocksport has yet to become true, we are convinced that we honour his legacy best by pursuing this dream further“.

„We take a bow to a tireless fighter for Icestocksport. We never will forget him and always honour his memory“.

“Our condolences and deepest sympathy go to his wife Monika and his family.”

 

 


Ad)

manfred_schaefer_2021

Die IFI trauert um Manfred Schäfer, IFI Ehrenpräsident – ein Gedenken

Die International Federation Icestocksport (IFI) gibt mit großer Trauer bekannt, dass der IFI Ehrenpräsident Manfred Schäfer heute Nacht in seinem Heimatort Mannheim plötzlich und unerwartet im Alter von 77 Jahren verstorben ist.

Schäfer war seit März 2020 Ehrenpräsident der IFI, der er seit 1999 für die Dauer von 21 Jahren als Präsident vorstand. Zuvor war er seit 1979 in verschiedenen IFI Funktionen tätig, unter anderem als Vorsitzender der IFI Rechtsorgane. Zusammen mit seinen Positionen als Präsidiumsmitglied des Deutschen Eisstocksportverbandes (DESV), dem er 16 Jahre bis 2000 angehörte, würdigte IFI Präsident Christian Lindner den Verstorbenen.

„Die IFI trauert um Ehrenpräsident Manfred Schäfer, der sein Leben dem Icestocksport gewidmet hat. Keiner prägte den internationalen Icestocksport mehr als er. Insgesamt war Schäfer 56 Jahre lang Sportfunktionär seit 1966. In diesem Jahr begann seine Funktionärslaufbahn als Pressewart des DESV und Obmann der Region Südwest. Von 1999 – 2020 führte er den Weltverband, der mittlerweile 47 Nationalverbände umfasst. Seit 1979 nahm Manfred Schäfer an sämtlichen IFI Kongressen teil und wurde bereits 1979 zum stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden des Rechts- und Strafausschusses gewählt. Drei Jahre später kam die Leitung des Berufungsschiedsgerichtes hinzu. 1999 wurde Manfred Schäfer mit überwältigender Mehrheit zum Präsidenten des Internationalen Eisstocksportverbandes gewählt. Sukzessive gelang es unserem Ehrenpräsidenten, die Mitgliederzahl auf derzeit 47 Nationen auszubauen, seit November 2003 kämpfte er für Icestocksport als Olympisch Programmsportart. Es war immer sein Ziel, dass Icestocksport in das olympische Programm aufgenommen wird“, erklärte IFI Präsident Christian Lindner.

„Manfred Schäfer legte dafür den Grundstein mit der Verfolgung der Bemühungen um die olympische Anerkennung durch das International Olympic Committee (IOC), die letztendlich im Jahre 2018 der IFI zugesprochen wurde“.

„Wenn auch der Traum Schäfers von einer olympischen Zukunft des Icestocksports noch nicht wahr geworden ist, sind wir überzeugt, dass wir das Lebenswerk unseres Ehrenpräsidenten am besten würdigen, wenn wir auf diesem Weg voranschreiten“.

„Wir verneigen uns vor einem unermüdlichen Kämpfer für den Icestocksport. Wir werden ihn nie vergessen um ein ehrendes Andenken bewahren“.

„Unser tiefes Mitgefühl gilt seiner Frau Monika und seiner Familie.“

 

 


Ad)