Screen Shot 2020-09-03 at 18.50.22

Death of Edelbert List, IFI Honorary President

Obituary

 by

Christian Lindner, IFI President

The bare numbers alone seem impressive, even gigantic. 33 years of service for the International Federation Icestocksport from 1966 to 1999, including 23 years as IFE President. Prior to that, Edelbert List, who has been Honorary President of the IFI since then, was Vice-President (1972-1976), member of the Technical Commission (1970-1972) and accountant and cash auditor for 10 years. The fact that he had had the IFE A referee license No. 002 since 1970 rounds off the profile on the international Icestocksport level to perfection.

His work in the German Ice Stock Federation (DESV) since its foundation in 1966 as a founding and Board member with 18 years in office as Sports Warden of DESV (1966-1984), Distance Shooting Representative, Treasurer and again 18 years as Referee Chairman and then Regional Chairman West testifies to his strong roots in the German Federation for Icestocksport, which he never lost. The list of more than 35 years of activities in the Hessian Ice Sports Association up to its Chairman and the other activities in and for sport from 1941, including gliding, would go beyond the scope of an obituary.

An article in the “Eisstockschützen”, the official bulletin of the DESV for his 70th birthday in 1996, with a statement from the “Olympic Youth Magazine” from 1985 is quoted here: “If a man is club president, sports warden, chairman of the regional association, full-time regional trainer for five different disciplines and is also a sports manager and referee chairman and national coach in a federal association and a member of the Executive Committee in another federal association and is even serving as president and managing director of an international federation, then that should answer the question of indispensability once and for all … “.

“A life for Icestocksport”, it makes you think when you think of Edelbert List. But it was so much more than that – he was essential to our sport. He loved and lived the Icestocksport and lived for the Icestocksport. Edelbert List was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. This was the well-deserved public recognition of a lifetime for volunteering. Edelbert List closed his eyes forever on August 20, 2020 in Frankfurt.

We will always keep his memory in high honor.

Screen Shot 2020-09-03 at 18.50.22

Zum Tode von Edelbert List, Ehrenpräsident der IFI

Ein Nachruf

von

Christian Lindner, IFI Präsident

Die blanken Zahlen wirken alleine schon beeindruckend, ja gigantisch. 33 Jahre Einsatz für die Internationale Föderation Eisstocksport von 1966 bis 1999, davon 23 Jahre als IFE Präsident. Davor war Edelbert List, der seither Ehrenpräsident der IFI war, 10 Jahre als Vizepräsident (1972-1976), Mitglied Technischen Kommission (1970-1972) und Rechnung- und Kassenprüfer tätig. Dass er seit 1970 die A-Schiedsrichterlizenz Nr. 002 der IFE besaß, rundet das Profil auf internationalem Niveau des Eisstocksports zur Perfektion ab.

Sein Wirken im Deutschen Eisstock-Verband (DESV) seit seiner Gründung im Jahre 1966 als Gründungs- und Vorstandsmitglied mit 18 Jahren Amtszeit als Sportwart des DESV (1966-1984), Weitschießfachwart, Schatzmeister und wiederum 18 Jahre als Schiedsrichterobmann und danach Regionen-Obmann West, zeugt von seinen starken Wurzeln im Deutschen Spitzenfachverband für Eisstocksport, die er nie verlor. Die Aufzählung der mehr als 35 Jahre Tätigkeiten im Hessischen Eissport-Verbandes bis hin zu dessen Vorsitzenden und die anderen Tätigkeiten im und für den Sport ab 1941 unter anderem im Segelfliegen würde den Rahmen eines Nachrufs sprengen.

Ein Artikel im „Eisstockschützen“, dem offiziellen Mitteilungsblatt des DESV zum 70. Geburtstag 1996 mit einer Aussage aus der „Olympischen Jugend “ von 1985 sei zitiert: “Wenn ein Mann also Vereinspräsident, Sportwart, Obmann im Landesverband, hauptamtlicher Landestrainer für fünf verschiedene Disziplinen und darüber hinaus auch noch Sportwart und Schiedsrichterobmann und Bundestrainer in einer Bundesvereinigung und Mitglied des Präsidiums in einem anderen Bundesverband ist und sich schließlich sogar als Präsident und Geschäftsführer einer internationalen Föderation verdient macht, dann sollte das die Frage der Unentbehrlichkeit ein für allemal beantworten…“.

„Ein Leben für den Eisstocksport“ möchte man denken, wenn man an Edelbert List denkt. Aber es war so viel mehr als das – er war unentbehrlich für unseren Sport. Er liebte und lebte den Eisstocksport und lebte für den Eisstocksport.

Edelbert List war Träger des Verdienstkreuzes am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Es war dies die verdiente auch öffentliche Würdigung eines Lebens für das Ehrenamt.

Edelbert List hat am 20. August 2020 in Frankfurt für immer die Augen geschlossen.

Wir werden sein Andenken stets in Ehren halten.